Zucchini Cobbler

On Saturday I discovered a darling little Farmer’s Market which is right around the corner from us at the train station.  So I felt obligated to check it out and while small, I was impressed by the selection.  I kicked myself for having already done a lot of my grocery shopping but I could not resist the lure of the giant zucchini!

I knew exactly what I would do with it since I am really the only one that will eat it! Make cobbler! I know – its a little crazy, but I discovered the recipe years ago from a neighbor of ours on the Cape and tried to make it a little healthier than the traditional cobbler ingredients. The recipe if so easy and the zucchini ends up tasting like apples and its hard to tell it is even a veggie!

Take 3.5 cups of zucchini (or about 2 medium-large ones peeled and diced) and dump them in a pot with about 1/4 cup lemon juice (I used 2 fresh lemons, squeezed). As you can see I did not dice up my zucchini very small, but I would suggest dicing them to about half this size, especially if you are trying to pass them off as “Apples!” Then cook them for about 10 minutes until the zucchini is tender, but not super mushy.  As you can see below I added my other ingredient (sugar) at the same time, but I think it is better to wait to add it after the zucchini has cooked.

zucchini5

Once it has cooked down, add 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 teas cinnamon and 1/4 teas. nutmeg (or a good shake of each!) Stir and cook 1 more minute before removing from heat.

Preheat your oven to 375. Then combine 1 and 1/3 cups of flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 teas cinnamon and stir.  Cut in 1/2 cup softened butter until mixture is crumbly. I used spreadable “I can’t Believe It’s Not Butter” since it was what I had in the fridge and it worked just fine as well.

zucchini4

 

Then combine half of the crumbly mixture to the hot zucchini. No need to be precise – just eyeball it, making sure you leave enough to crumb the top.

zucchini3

It really starts to look gooey and delicious at this point but try to hold out.  Then decide what you want to cook it in – ramekins, a 8×8 square pan, a glass pyrex bowl. Whatever you have that is convenient.  Pour the hot mixture into the bottom and top with the leftover crumbly mixture. Then cook for 30-45 minutes until golden brown on top and bubbly on the bottom.

I sprinkled cinnamon on the top of mine for a dash of color, but the oven in the apartment has no apparent heating element on top which would provide the browning so while it cooked, it did not turn lovely golden brown on top.

zucchini2

It was still super delicious though!! Enjoy!!

zucchini1

Leave a Reply

