Freezer Potato Skins

I couldn’t resist buying a big basket of red potatoes at the little farmer’s market a couple weeks because I love potatoes in most forms; however, I never really got around to using them for a week or so and finally decided I really needed to do something with them.  Potato skins are one of my favorite apps, but I never order them because I think they are covered in grease and oil in most restaurants and always seemed to difficult to make.  Then I realized I could probably make a big batch of my own and freeze them in small batches so I would have them whenever I wanted!

This recipe is so easy, but really allows for long lasting rewards in having some semi-healthy potato skins waiting whenever you feel like it!!

Take your small potatoes — I used red, but yukons would work as well.  Scrub them well, especially if from the farmer’s market!! Then stab them all with a fork a couple times so they don’t explode and throw them on a cookie sheet.  Now you can drizzle them with oil and salt for a tastier experience, or leave them plain to be a bit healthier.  Then bake for about 45-60 min in a 375 degree oven, depending on the size of your potatoes.  You want them to be pretty soft.

IMG_1953

When they are done, pull them out and let them cool a bit so they are not so hot to the touch.

IMG_1954

Then slice them in half and scoop out the majority of the insides with a spoon or a melon baller, until you are left with your “skin.” Be sure to save the insides for something fun — mashed potatoes, potato pancakes, all sorts of lovely things!

IMG_1955

Then fill them up with whatever you like! I often cut up slivers of bacon and cook them while the potatoes are cooking and then let them cool so I have fresh bacon bits to sprinkle on them.  I also like chives from my herb garden, but really you can fill these little guys with just about anything, as long as they are not too water based, like tomatoes as I don’t think they would freeze very well.

IMG_1958

Once your potatoes are loaded up with goodies, then its time to sprinkle the cheese! Do this liberally with whatever kind of cheese you like!

IMG_1956

Once you have your potatoes sprinkled with cheese, throw them in the broiler to melt the cheese for about 5 minutes.  Pull them out and let them cool for a minute and then stick them in the freezer, just as they are, on the cookie sheet for a while until they freeze slightly — then they won’t freeze into a giant mass in the baggie. Once they are mostly frozen you can divide them up into baggies for storage.  I usually do 4-6 for a single serving and sometimes 8-10 if I am planning on serving them with dinner for two.

Enjoy!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

