The Best Greek Orzo Salad

This week has been a little crazy so I am back with another awesome recipe.  This is my go to favorite for every potluck, BBQ, and generally most parties and for the most part it is super easy. I also tend to keep pretty much all the ingredients on hand so it is usually quite fast to throw together.  It is adapted from “Bride and Groom: First and Forever Cookbook” which my friend Lily gave me for our wedding and surprising I think it is one that I actually reference the most.  (So of course, I in turn gave it to her for her wedding! )

Here are the ingredients:

1/4 cup olive oil  *  2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice (I always add a bit extra) *  1.5 teas fresh garlic (again, add extra if you like garlic) *  1/2 teas dried organo *  1/2 teas kosher salt * 1/8 teas black pepper * 1/2 teas sugar * 1 cup orzo (I usually make a couple cups and have been none to make the whole box – so feel free to increase as needed for servings * 1/4 cup pine nuts * 1/4 cup golden raisins * 3 Tbsp finely chopped kalamata olives (or black olives) *1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh basil (I love my herb scissors for this!) * 2 oz feta cheese (again, add more if desired – I do!)

Bring a pot of water to boil over high heat and add kosher salt. Add orzo and cook, stirring occasionally, until just tender, but still firm (around 8-10 minutes).

Whisk together your “dressing” – the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper — and set aside.

DSC_0048

Then put your pinenuts in a dry skillet and toast them over medium low heat, shaking constantly, until toasty and brown (about 5 minutes).

2013 March-May 049

Once the orzo is done cooking, drain it and transfer to the medium bowl with the dressing.  Toss to coat. Let cool to room temperature, stirring occasionally.

2013 March-May 050

While the orzo is cooling, you can chop your olives and prepare your other ingredients.  Once the orzo has cooled slightly, add the olives, feta, pine nuts and golden raisins.

2013 March-May 053

Stir it up and then add some fresh basil on top.  So easy and so delicious! It will be a hit at any party you go to! I promise!

DSC_0055

Leave a Reply

